Features of Explora Resources

by INFOhio Staff 1 year, 10 months ago
  1. Thinking about the students you work with, name at least two ways Explora can help you supplement content in your classroom. Name at least two features that will most appeal to older students based on what you learned from your quick glimpse at the resource.
  2. What is one question you have about the resource that you hope will be answered during the training?
  3. Think of a time when you used a website or online tool in your instruction. What did you like about using the digital resource? How was it different than using other resources in your teaching?
Gretchen Lawn 1 year, 6 months ago

1. I like that as a teacher, I can direct students to or find resources, but that students can navigate by themselves too.

2. What are the lesson planning materials like?

3. I like that this resource pulls from magazines, reference sources, etc. to give students a real look into navigating the internet to find trustworthy results. 

Fiona Casida 1 year, 6 months ago

1) The Topic Overview is a great feature because it offers a summary of the topic that gives students a basic understanding before delving into their research. They may find the topic was different than what they originally understood. This will be a useful tool as students are generating topics for their research papers. Students would also find the Category Browse helpful as it offers current topics, rather them relying on the traditional research topics. Showing the students the video "InfOhio Makes Research Easy with Explora" would provide educational information but also help them identify with a typical student wants to complete their work quickly and move on to more entertaining life events. The video shows that both can be done if they utilize robust tools, such as Explora.